My Food Photography Tips and Tricks

Hello and greetings from my (currently very rainy) little corner of the world!DSC_0161

Today I am excited to write a “photography tips and tricks” post for all of you! I get a lot of compliments on my photos on Instagram, and I want to share some of the things I have learned over time about what looks best and how to enjoy the process!

First, I am going to give you a little background on my photography history. When I was nine years old, my grandparents gave me an adorable little digital camera to play with and I have loved photography ever since. I used to and still do take a lot of nature photos (check out my portfolio here) but I only recently started taking photos of my food when I discovered the Instagram recovery community.DSC_0386 I found myself to enjoy making my food look pretty. This summer I am also volunteering at an animal shelter nearby as a photographer and I love it. It truly does feel great to help out the animals while doing something I love! That’s enough about my “photography history” and I’m sure you’re ready to hear my tips, so let’s get into it!

Today I’m going to be talking specifically about food photography although I may make a nature photography tips and tricks post later, even though, surprisingly enough, the two are similar! For a majority of my Instagram photos, I use my Nikon D3200 camera, which is a DSLR camera. I use a 18-55mm lens. I love this camera for food photography because it has a setting specifically for detailed objects, suck as food, and it picks up on all the details.

But it’s not all about the camera!DSC_0831

I make my own little “studio” on the kitchen table when I take my photos and so can you! All I use is a small sheet/cloth kind of thing and a small piece of white posterboard folded at a 90 degree angle (if it is not 90 degrees exactly, your photos will be ruined so please us a protractor… I was totally kidding by the way!) As far as props goes, I usually only use fake flowers and try to make the food the center of attention. NATURAL LIGHT IS VERY IMPORTANT. I can’t stress that enough. I recommend taking photos somewhere that the light isn’t so harsh that it leaves shadows (read: no flash), but just enough so that your camera doesn’t have to work so hard to capture details.

Another thing to keep in mind is that the prettier your food is, the gooier it is, the more colors there are, and the more yummy it looks, the more attention it will draw! So cut your fruit up creatively, contrast colors and textures, and treat yourself to delicious food! I said earlier that I make my food the main focus and just leave the flowers in the background to add a little more interest, however it’s also fun to change up the background every now and again, such as holding a granola bar up to grass or something artsy like that. And finally my last tip… Editing! I typically use Instagram to edit my food photos.¬† My tips for editing are to make sure to make the photo bright and happy looking and make those colors pop just enough to draw some attention!

Normal setting, with flash.
Normal setting, with flash. Very hard to fix the harsh shadows. No editing.
Normal setting, no flash.
Normal setting, no flash. Could easily be brightened up. No editing yet.
Food photography setting, before editing.
Food photography setting, before editing. Notice the color contrast and shapes!

Be patient because your experience grows with time! Thanks for reading all of this and enjoy your weekends! Let me know if you have any other questions.

Leave a Reply

